Department of Chemistry

Departmental Research Awards

Once a year, the Graduate Award Committee will identify the recipients of the following awards and scholarships. If you would like to be considered, please have your nomination packet delivered to the Chair of the Graduate Award Committee, Daniel Singleton, by February 1 (of each year). Students applying for these awards must be enrolled in the Department of Chemistry Graduate Program.

Category 1: Open to all students
  • Thomas J. Hairston Memorial Graduate Scholarship
  • Richard W. Schmude, Jr. Endowed Graduate Scholarship
  • Marie and Jim Galloway Endowed Graduate Scholarship
  • Dow Chemical Graduate Fellowships (one per division)
Category 2: Open to physical chemistry students
  • Bruno J. Zwolinski Award in Physical Chemistry


The successful candidates will be selected based upon academic performance and research accomplishments. Only students currently enrolled in our graduate program may be nominated. Students nominated for category 2 will automatically be considered for category 1. Each nomination packet should include:

  1. A duly completed award nomination form
  2. A letter of nomination
  3. The candidate's resume including a list of publications and presentations
  4. A two page research summary