Department of Chemistry

F. A. Cotton Medal for Excellence in Chemical Research

The F. A. Cotton Medal for Excellence in Chemical Research was established in 1994 by the Texas A&M Section of the American Chemical Society and the Chemistry Department of Texas A&M University. First awarded on March 31, 1995 to Frank Albert Cotton, the medal is supported by an initial endowment of over $100,000. The funds were raised, in conjunction with Contemporary Inorganic Chemistry: A Symposium in Honor of F.A. Cotton, by Carlos A. Murillo, a long-time friend and co-worker. The F. A. Cotton Medal for Excellence in Chemical Research is awarded annually and recognizes accomplishments in research rather than distinction of any other sort, no matter how meritorious. The award is not restricted by gender, country, or branch of chemistry.

F.A. Cotton became Robert A. Welch Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at Texas A&M University in 1972. His research was in the fields of inorganic chemistry, protein chemistry, structural chemistry and chemical bonding. He was the originator of and leading authority in the field of compounds containing single and multiple bonds between metal atoms. His other principal contributions dealt with protein structure, spectroscopic studies of metal carbonyls, and the dynamic behavior of fluxional organometallic and metal carbonyl compounds.

F.A. Cotton Medal Symposium Speakers

Jennifer A. Doudna

F.A. Cotton Medalist

David Savage

University of California, Berkeley

David Taylor

University of Texas

Symposium Schedule Friday, April 28, 2017

9:00 AMAda YonathTowards a new generation of environmental friendly antibiotics, and thoughts about the origin of life
9:50 AMRaymond WongNew Ways to Combine Molecular Units by Cycloaddition
10:40 AMBreak
10:50 AMRick AdamsThe Activation of Aromatic C-H Bonds by Polynuclear Metal Carbonyl Cluster Complexes
11:40 AMMarina A. PetrukhinaNanocarbon Bowls: Novel Redox Active π-Ligands for Organometallic and Supramolecular Chemistry
12:30 PMLunch
1:20 PMPoster Session
1:50 PMCotton Medal Opening Remarks
2:00 PMDavid TaylorBreaking Bad: Structures of CRISPR-Cas surveillance complexes
3:00 PMDavid SavageSynthetic biological tools for probing and perturbing cellular physiology
4:00 PMCoffee Break and Poster Session
4:30 PMJennifer DoudnaThe Chemistry of CRISPR-mediated Genome Editing
7:00 PMReception
7:30 PMDinner
8:30 PMPresentation of the F.A. Cotton Medal and closing remarks

Symposium Schedule Saturday, April 29, 2017

9:00 AMSusumu KitagawaPerspectives on Porous Coordination Polymers/Metal-Organic Frameworks
9:50 AMMike DoyleNew Ways to Combine Molecular Units by Cycloaddition
10:40 AMBreak
10:50 AMDan ZhaoEngineering Applications of Advanced Porous Materials
11:40 AMQinliang ZhaoBimetallic Complexes: Synthesis, Reactivity and Metal-Metal Interactions
12:30 PMLunch
1:30 PMMichael NippeHeterometallic Lanthanide-Transition Metal Chemistry: Tuning Magnetic Relaxation by Geometry, Redox Properties, and Lanthanide-Transition Metal Interactions
2:20 PMJames DonahueAtypical Manifestations of Ligand Redox Noninnocence
3:10 PMBreak
3:20 PMLarry FalvelloPhase Transitions and Chemical Reactions in Molecular Crystals
4:10 PMTong Ren3d-Metal Cyclam Complexes: An Old Dog for New and Sustainable Chemistry

50 Years of Excellence Symposium Speakers

Rick Adams

University of South Carolina

James Donahue

Tulane University

Mike Doyle

University of Texas - San Antonio

Larry Falvello

University of Zaragoza

Susumu Kitagawa

Kyoto University

Michael Nippe

Texas A&M University

Marina Petrukhina

University at Albany

Tong Ren

Purdue University

Ada Yonath

Weizmann Institute of Science

Raymond W.Y. Wong

Hong Kong Baptist University

Dan Zhao

National University of Singapore

Qinliang Zhao

University of the Pacific

Session Chairs

John Fackler

Professor Emeritus, Texas A&M University

Shengqian Ma

University of South Florida

Carlos Murillo

National Science Foundation

Greg Powell

Abilene Christian University

Daren Timmons

University of South Carolina Aiken